The building as a whole is
Grade II listed and dating back about to at least 1761. The
pub occupied two of three original small cottages and was reputedly
owned by the then Mayor of Canterbury.
It is rumoured that the Duke
of Cumberland stayed at the pub whilst training his troops on Barham
It was converted into a pub
in 1847 (although not specifically mentioned as such in the 1851 census)
with Josiah Page being the first inn keeper until 1882.
In 1923 the pub was valued
at £365 and by 1934 this had been increased to £1,300.
Water was laid on in 1929 at
a cost of £8/9/-.
During WWII there are
indications that the two large bedrooms were utilised by ENSA with the
room between being used as a dressing room. Both bedrooms
contained a large number of wooden pegs 6 to 8 inches long on which to
hang heavy or wet clothing.
The demise of the Woodman
was unique as on 11th March 1960 Mrs. Rose Murphy, an ex-licensee,
objected to the renewal on the basis that
Sportsman's Arms was only two doors away and it was unfair to take a
man's money for a pub that could not provide a living. She
had only survived by also taking on catering and the kitchen was used to
store casks of beer for no rent, rates or licence duty.
Official visits showed that
the greatest number of customers at any one time was 10 and the average
during the day was 2.27 and in the evenings 3.75. The pub
and adjoining cottage were purchased by a Mr. C. A. Lindridge for £2,250
on the 13th January 1961 and the pub closed at the end of August.
The property was then converted to a private residence within which a
bed and breakfast business was established.